Cookiequiet vs CookieFirst: €99 to €209 a year per domain against €29
Pick Cookiequiet if you want a consent log on every plan and a lower price per site: €29 a year on Starter against €209 for CookieFirst Plus, the first CookieFirst plan with consent audit trails, or €145 against €1,045 for five sites. Pick CookieFirst if you need a Google-certified CMP with the IAB TCF 2.2 (on Plus), 44 banner languages, or its Shopify app with the customer privacy API.| Cookiequiet | CookieFirst | |
|---|---|---|
| Price for one website | Free for 1 website; Starter €3 a month or €29 a year per website; Pro €9 a month or €99 a year per website | Free (1 script, one-time scan); Basic €9 a month or €99 a year; Plus €19 a month or €209 a year; per (sub)domain |
| Price for five websites, per year | €145 a year on Starter (5 × €29) or €495 on Pro (5 × €99); €190 a year on Agency for up to 10 Pro websites | €495 on Basic or €1,045 on Plus (5 subscriptions) |
| Free plan limits | 1 website, unlimited pageviews, geo-targeting, consent log kept 30 days, 10 pages per scan monthly, policies in one language, a small Cookiequiet link | 1 third-party script, banner only, one scan at signup, one language, no consent audit trails |
| Pageview limits | None on any plan | Soft limit of 250,000 page views per domain per month, 25% overuse tolerated two months running |
| Subdomains | Extra domains under one website: 1 on Starter, up to 5 on Pro (www, staging) | A separate subscription for every (sub)domain |
| Geo-targeting | Every plan, Free included: regulated countries, a custom list, or a US opt-out notice | Banner settings by country or region per its help center; the plan that includes them is not stated on the pricing section |
| Google Consent Mode v2 | Every plan, Free included, plus Microsoft UET | Supported, plus Microsoft UET Consent Mode |
| Consent records | 30 days on Free, 1 year on Starter, 5 years on Pro; CSV export on Starter and Pro | Consent audit trails on Plus only; retention not stated |
| Cookie scanner | 10 pages per scan on Free, 50 on Starter and Pro; monthly on Free, weekly on Starter and Pro; about 80 providers | Once at signup on Free, monthly on Basic and Plus; page count not stated |
| Languages | 24, picked from the visitor's browser, every string editable | 44 per its help center; one on Free |
| Google-certified CMP / IAB TCF | No: not a Google-certified CMP, no IAB TCF | Yes: 'CookieFirst CMP' is on Google's certified list (TCF CMP ID 382); IAB TCF 2.2 on Plus |
| Branding removal | Removed on Starter, Pro and Agency | White-label banner from Basic |
| Setup | One script tag before your other scripts, no plugin or tag-manager setup; the scan fills the cookie table and prefills the policies; Reject all on by default, Consent Mode v2 with one attribute; about five minutes | With Tag Manager: enable Consent Mode in domain settings, add the gallery template, paste the API key, set default consent per category and region; the guide assumes GTM knowledge |
Pricing
CookieFirst sells one subscription per domain; its help center says a separate subscription is needed for every domain or subdomain. On 2026-10-21 the pricing section of its home page listed, in euros excluding VAT: Free at €0 with one third-party script, the banner only, a single scan at signup and one language; Basic at €9 a month or €99 a year with all scripts, monthly scans, multiple languages and a white-label banner; and Plus at €19 a month or €209 a year, which adds consent audit trails, opt-in rate optimization, scanner settings and IAB TCF 2.2 support. Every plan carries a soft limit of 250,000 page views per domain per month, with 25% overuse tolerated for two consecutive months. A two-week trial is offered.
Cookiequiet prices by website, with no pageview limit. One website is free. Starter is €3 per website per month or €29 a year and covers one extra domain, such as www, under the same website. Pro, with the AI design agent, is €9 per website per month or €99 a year and covers up to five extra domains, such as www and staging.
| Websites | CookieFirst Basic | CookieFirst Plus | Cookiequiet |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | €99 a year | €209 a year | €0 (Free) or €29 (Starter) |
| 5 | €495 a year | €1,045 a year | €145 (Starter) or €495 (Pro) |
The column that matters for most sites is Plus, because consent audit trails, CookieFirst's record of who consented to what, start there. A consent record is how you prove consent if an authority asks, as covered in how long to keep consent records. Cookiequiet logs every choice on every plan. The cost calculator runs other site counts.
Compliance features
Consent records: CookieFirst lists consent audit trails on Plus only, without stating retention. Cookiequiet keeps records 30 days on Free, 1 year on Starter and 5 years on Pro, with CSV export on Starter and Pro.
Geo-targeting: CookieFirst's help center describes banner configurations based on country or region, and its Shopify app lets you pick the countries where the banner shows; the pricing section does not say which plan includes this. Cookiequiet includes geo-targeting on every plan: everywhere, regulated countries only (the EEA, the UK, Switzerland, Brazil, Canada, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey), or a custom list, with a US opt-out notice and Global Privacy Control honored.
Both support Google Consent Mode v2 and Microsoft UET Consent Mode.
CookieFirst is on Google's list of certified CMPs and supports the IAB TCF 2.2 on Plus. Cookiequiet is not certified, so sites that show AdSense, Ad Manager or AdMob ads to EEA, UK or Swiss visitors need a certified CMP for those ads.
CookieFirst says it has joined iubenda, part of the team.blue group, and that no features or workflows changed. If you are also weighing iubenda, see Cookiequiet vs iubenda.
Setup
CookieFirst's guide to Google Tag Manager and Consent Mode v2 assumes you already know GTM and have a container. You enable Consent Mode in the domain settings, add the CookieFirst template from the community gallery, paste the API key from the embed scripts section, then set which categories are granted or denied by default, region by region. You can also load the banner directly in the site code instead of through GTM.
Cookiequiet is one script tag placed before your other scripts, with no plugin or tag-manager configuration. The scan fills the cookie table and prefills the policies. Reject all is on by default, and Consent Mode v2 is one attribute on the same tag. Sign-up to a live banner takes about five minutes.
Where CookieFirst is better
- A Google-certified CMP with the IAB TCF 2.2 on Plus.
- 44 banner languages, against 24 for Cookiequiet.
- A Shopify app tied to Shopify's customer privacy API.
- Opt-in rate optimization and scanner settings on Plus.
Where Cookiequiet is better
- Price: €29 a year per site on Starter against €99 to €209; €145 against €495 to €1,045 for five sites.
- A consent log on every plan, where CookieFirst starts audit trails on its €209 plan.
- No pageview limit, and extra domains included (one on Starter, up to five on Pro) instead of one subscription per subdomain.
- Geo-targeting, all scripts and 24 languages on the free plan.
Switching
Remove the CookieFirst script or GTM tag, add the Cookiequiet tag before every other script, and mark the scripts that must wait for consent with type="text/plain" data-cq-category="analytics". Run a scan, review the categories and generate the cookie policy. Export your CookieFirst consent audit trail first if you are on Plus.
Questions
Sources
- CookieFirst pricing (home page pricing section)
- CookieFirst help: How many (sub)domains are included in a subscription?
- CookieFirst help: How many languages does Cookie First support?
- CookieFirst help: Google Tag Manager and Google Consent Mode v2
- CookieFirst help: Where are my consents stored?
- CookieFirst help: Shopify app, cookie banner regions
- CookieFirst joins iubenda: what this means for you
- Google: Certified CMPs that integrate with the IAB TCF